Parks Australia announces temporary closures

24 March 2020

Parks Australia has today announced that the Australian National Botanic Gardens, Booderee, Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Parks will close to visitors and other non-essential travellers for a minimum of two weeks.

Following consultation with key stakeholders including traditional owners Parks Australia has determined that the following closures will take effect:

  • Australian National Botanic Gardens, Canberra, from 5pm Tuesday, 24 March 2020
  • Booderee National Park, Jervis Bay Territory, from 5pm Wednesday, 25 March 2020
  • Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Parks, Northern Territory, from 5pm, Thursday, 26 March 2020

(The varying closure dates reflect individual requirements following consultation for each site).

At Booderee National Park, camping will be cancelled until 1 May 2020, and no forward bookings taken until there is greater clarity on longer-term arrangements. Existing bookings will be refunded.

Parks Australia will continue to facilitate access to Booderee, Kakadu and Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park for residents of the park and surrounding Aboriginal communities, essential services, and those working in the community.

Key operational staff will continue to work on site in each park to maintain these significant protected natural and cultural environments, including the living collections and seed collections at the Australian National Botanic Gardens.

For details and updates, please check the Parks Australia website.