Inaugural APVMA board chair and members appointed

8 April 2022
  • Inaugural chair and members of the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority (APVMA) Board appointed.
  • New chair and board members bring qualifications, skills, and experience for the effective operation of the APVMA Board.

Minister for Agriculture and Northern Australia David Littleproud has appointed the chair and 3 members to the inaugural board for the Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority (APVMA). 

Minister Littleproud said the APVMA Board will strengthen the APVMA’s governance arrangements and provide the necessary oversight to manage operational, financial and performance matters.

“The APVMA is an independent statutory authority responsible for the regulation and control of agriculture and veterinary (agvet) chemicals in Australia up to the point of retail sale,” Minister Littleproud said.

“I have appointed the inaugural chair, Dr Carrie Hillyard AM, and inaugural members, Dr Jeremy Burdon, Mrs Maree Gooch and Dr Steve Jefferies AM.

“With their qualifications, skills and experience, they will ensure the effective operation of the APVMA by covering the required fields of expertise specified in the Agvet Admin Act. 

“The APVMA Board will be the accountable authority and set the APVMA’s strategic direction, drive its operational performance, and set an appropriate risk management framework. 

“It will also play a critical role in implementing the government’s reform agenda for agricultural and veterinary (agvet) chemical regulation.

“I congratulate the new members of the APVMA Board and look forward to working together to continue to deliver efficient, effective, timely, and science-based agvet chemical regulation for Australia.” 

Fast Facts:

  • The APVMA independently evaluates the safety and performance of agvet chemicals intended for sale, ensuring the safety of our national food supply; the wellbeing of the environment; animal and plant health; and the integrity of our exports.
  • Newly appointed members of the APVMA Board are:
    • Dr Carmel (Carrie) Hillyard AM (chair) – over 50 years’ experience in biosciences and biochemistry; currently Chair, Fitgenes Ltd, Chair, Mater Research Advisory Board and Director, Academy of Technology and Engineering (4 year term)
    • Dr Jeremy Burdon (member) – over 40 years’ experience in science and plant phenomics; currently Non-Executive Director, Sugar Research Australia (3 year term) 
    • Mrs Maree Gooch (member) – over 30 years’ experience in farming and primary production; currently Managing Director, Belay Consulting (3 year term) 
    • Dr Steve Jefferies AM (member) – 40 years’ experience in agricultural science and management; currently Director, Jefferies Ag Solutions Pty Ltd (3 year term) 
  • Agricultural and Veterinary Chemicals Legislation Amendment (Australian Pesticides and Veterinary Medicines Authority Board and Other Improvements) Bill 2019 passed the Parliament on 1st December.
  • On 3 March 2022 the Governor-General signed the proclamation to establish the APVMA Board. As a result, from 4 March 2022, the Accountable Authority of the APVMA is the Board under the Public Governance, Performance and Accountability (PGPA) Act 2013.
  • The APVMA Board consists of a chair and 3 members (all part-time), together with the APVMA Chief Executive Officer (CEO), currently Ms Lisa Croft (full-time).