Experience retained with reappointment and new recruit welcomed to Murray–Darling Basin Authority

1 April 2022

Minister for Resources and Water, Keith Pitt, today announced the reappointment of Professor Stuart Bunn for a second term and the new appointment of Dr Jane Doolan to the Murray–Darling Basin Authority (Authority). 

“Professor Stuart Bunn brings over 30 years of significant research into our understanding of freshwater systems and how they can be improved,” Minister Pitt said.

“Freshwater ecology, hydrology and water resource management experience will continue to benefit the Authority with Professor Bunn’s reappointment

“Dr Jane Doolan is from Victoria and will bolster the knowledge and experience of the Authority through her more than 30 years’ experience in senior leadership roles regarding Murray-Darling Basin policy and in sustainable water resource management.

“Dr Doolan is well regarded for her work while a Commissioner of the Productivity Commission and for her water and ecological knowledge in driving the development of environmental watering plans.

“I commend Professor Bunn on his reappointment and welcome Dr Doolan, who replaces outgoing member of the Authority, Ms Joanna Hewitt AO. I thank Ms Hewitt for her service to the Authority, a service that also extends to the millions of Australians who rely on the Murray–Darling Basin every day.”

Doctor Doolan joins current Authority members Sir Angus Houston AK, AFC (Ret’d) (Chairman), Andrew Reynolds (Acting chief executive), Professor Stuart Bunn reappointed today for a second term, Susan Madden, Roseanne Healy and Rene Woods who are also supported by several expert advisory committees.

For more information on Authority members visit the MDBA website.